Fated for Insufficiency by Jessica Ni Leacai

If had you my heart planted in your garden,
Should I sprout forth my flowers in triumph,
proving my love not the weeds they named me.

If coiled you your branches in my damp bed,
How I would water them in absolute affection,
insuring my passion not the illness they prescribed me.

If shone you your sun smiling on my drained stalks,
I would not wither and recoil these leaves loveless,
hoping my reflection not the stormclouds they thundered me.

If held you my rosebuds ardently in your eyes,
I would not blacken your days darkened in ire,
affirming my benevolence not the harshness they painted me.


This poem can be read on poetry.com – http://poetry.com/poems/235611

About jessienileacai

Irish speaker and artist. I love music, art, languages,literature, history, travel, photography, and comedy. I love Ireland, my heritage, the old ways and the beauty and people of this small island and its surrounding tiny islands
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

