Imprisoned in tortured emotions

If my lips could quote such effortless ideals
I would be at peace,perhaps blissfully unaware
that the heart does not beat the drum of logic
or that I could calm rivers or oceans colliding with my soul

Should I break arrows of archers aiming so carelessly
Or should I stand steadfast, hoping for my heart to pierce?
Why love and war were never won by my hopeless soul
I will never ask the answers nor battle the demons ever more.

If I could only forget this battle,
This war of torture ravaged on my heart,
I would break every arrow and crush every thought
but love is lost on me, tearing through the gaping holes of a crimson cage

These shattered pellets of bullets aimed by armoured villains
Render me tortured and numb
Blood pours in rivers of sadness,
slowly seeping from a blackened heart imprisoned

This poem can also be read on poetry.com- http://www.poetry.com/poems/47564

About jessienileacai

Irish speaker and artist. I love music, art, languages,literature, history, travel, photography, and comedy. I love Ireland, my heritage, the old ways and the beauty and people of this small island and its surrounding tiny islands
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imprisoned in tortured emotions

  1. Pingback: Enough « Desidera Deliciae

  2. Pingback: Enough | Creating Serenity

Leave a Reply

