Imagining madness

How I long to sit with you down by the water, 
on pebbled beach and sand succumbing to our mold, 
and we breathing in every moment, elapsing time,forever 
simplistic seconds of peaceful bliss 

But we are only strangers, you the companion,  
I long to meet,of waking and waning hours, I see you, 
by the fireside blazing, our children later dancing amongst 
green fields, happily, heartily dancing, echoing laughter 

Suddenly, reality realises my folly and jilts me back 
to this place, I am sure, is not my rejoiceful standing 
and you are not present, you have abandoned it, 
my mind’s reflection and I await you repeatedly as a needle skipping the track 

In vain, it seems, as years leap forward, rushing me into 
this oblivious haste, hopes shattering at every notice, 
where is my lover, this promise on my life, I have made, 
yet none comes, no love, no company, only barren, lifeless this existence. 

This poem can be also found on http://www.poetry.com/poems/52381

About jessienileacai

Irish speaker and artist. I love music, art, languages,literature, history, travel, photography, and comedy. I love Ireland, my heritage, the old ways and the beauty and people of this small island and its surrounding tiny islands
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

