Exclusion by Association

So it’s that time of the year again,summer and all of the events are up and going at full speed. Last year, I missed a few events and was hoping to be included this year but of course, do to my lack of connections,lack of financial support/gains and my not being in the know as they say I missed out and was again left out of the loop.

The old saying comes to mind, ‘Fool me once, shame on you, Fool me twice, shame on me’. I have been fooled twice and that was twice too many times for me. It is hard enough to get by in this financial climate without others going against one another.

This hierarchy structure of society has a lot to answer for. On a daily basis, hundreds upon thousands leave this small island of Ireland, some never to return. Yet people carry on with their self serving behaviour and no one blinks an eye. They blame the economy and never look inwards to see that maybe it is not all about financial support, that perhaps people need a bit of a boost now and then and a few kind words go a long way.

It is so easy to say ‘be happy, cheer up, things will get better’ when all you feel is that every day is a struggle and especially when you work so hard and all your labour seems fruitless. I would wish with all my heart that people’s attitudes would change and that they would see outside themselves and support their communities, friends, peers and be more conscious of their actions. It is great to be a self promoter, but to set out and offer a helping hand to your fellow man is detrimental in this day and age.

There are too many cliques, too many elitist, too many groups who exclude people and block the way to others’ careers, fulfillment and they seem to be oblivious to their own behaviour when questioned. There has to be a change, there needs to be more proactive movement towards breaking down the sectors of society that are the have and have nots. Because it seems that it is the people who have- the people who have the connections are the people who have the money and are the same people who have access to events etc. Is it all a coincidence? I dare say not.

So enough with exclusion by association, I feel the need to be a gate crasher but would I be looked down upon as not good enough to be even that? You can only keep people down for so long before they decide to bite back. There are quite a few people in Ireland and Northern Ireland who are plaguing the social scene and you can not turn a page without seeing them plastered everywhere. I am sure they worked hard to get where they are at but everyone has their sell by date and isn’t it time for other people to get a chance?

About jessienileacai

Irish speaker and artist. I love music, art, languages,literature, history, travel, photography, and comedy. I love Ireland, my heritage, the old ways and the beauty and people of this small island and its surrounding tiny islands
This entry was posted in ART and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

