My Millinery

As of late, the art scene has been booming but not in the sense of sales unfortunately. With unemployment on the rise, people are becoming more creative and taking on the recycling approach or as it is liked to be called ‘upcycling’. This involves taking an already used item and upgrading it to better quality.

I have always enjoyed refurbishing items- whether it be interior based or exterior, I am an avid fan of DIY. A few weeks ago, I took up the art of millinery,i.e. hat making. I was researching online on how to make head pieces or hair fascinators as some like to call them and found that you could use basic household materials such as milk cartons to make them. So away I started and now I have taken to buying bits and bobs from Charity shops- everything from old hats to brooches and pulling them apart and making them into ‘upcycled’ hats. It’s a hobby I enjoy and perhaps it will eventually make me money, but for now, I enjoy the creativity it brings.

My millinery can be viewed on both my blog on tumblr- http://bkwrdsinhigheels.tumblr.com/ and also my Facebook page- Rudai Alainn (lovely things)-http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rudai-Alainn/151389868209563.

Below is a photo of me wearing my latest hat,a custom designed black rim shaped hat w light purple and black ornates, antique pendant and gold leaves.

About jessienileacai

Irish speaker and artist. I love music, art, languages,literature, history, travel, photography, and comedy. I love Ireland, my heritage, the old ways and the beauty and people of this small island and its surrounding tiny islands
This entry was posted in ART and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

