The North


I love the North of Ireland or Northern Ireland as it’s known.  I try and spend alot of my time in the north when possible. The people of Ulster hold a special place in my heart, not only as a place of my heritage but also a place of beauty- both outer and inner that I have ever seen. I have to include Donegal in this as though it’s not apart of Northern Ireland, it is indeed one of the counties of Ulster and the people and places of Tir Chonaill as they say as Gaeilge (in Irish) are a treasure of the Republic of Ireland.

 Belfast and Bangor are my two favourite places in Northern Ireland for various reasons. The music and art scene in Belfast is thriving, it boasts some of the country’s best musicians and I am finding that the artists in the north are really equally brilliant. Of course, the shopping, nightlife, eateries and close amenities of Belfast can’t be forgotten. It’s the link to the rest of the north.

Bangor is 2nd in line as I have spent some of my happiest days in the small wee town outside of Belfast and have met the nicest, most genuine people one could come across. The beach at Ballyholme inspired me so much, I did a finger painting of the scenes I seen there and titled it ‘Ballyholme’ from my last visit there during the summer which I will post in this post.

There other parts of the north which are beautiful as well- the Giants Causeway,the Mourne Mountains, Murlough Bay there in the Mourne Mountains where the mountains meet the sea with it’s beautiful dunes, the town of Derry and surrounding areas, all so many places, I could write a book on the beauty of the gem of Ulster and it’s people and places!

I have photos on my facebook page as well- http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=6112726&l=dd021f194e&id=779344534

About jessienileacai

Irish speaker and artist. I love music, art, languages,literature, history, travel, photography, and comedy. I love Ireland, my heritage, the old ways and the beauty and people of this small island and its surrounding tiny islands
This entry was posted in ART and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

